The congregation of Temple B'nai Abraham was organized in 1853 by Orthodox members of Newark's first congregation, B'nai Jeshurun. It was named after Abraham Newman. Most of its members were from Posan, Poland. By 1924, the congregation had moved into its seventh and final Newark home (see image) on Clinton and Shanley Avenues in Newark's Clinton Hill section.
Originally it was Orthodox, with separate seating for men and women with no organ or choir. Eventually, this synagogue followed the Conservative ritual.
The building was unique among the numerous Newark synagogues in that it had, in addition to the Sanctuary, a large number of classrooms, a gymnasium, a combination auditorium/lecture hall, and a swimming pool. For much of its life, it was a hub of Jewish spiritual activities in the Clinton Hill section of Newark.
In 1973, Temple B'nai Abraham moved to its present home in Livingston.
From: Social Services Directory of Newark 1912
Conducts a religious school daily for children of members and nonmembers; also a Young Folks' League.
Archive Information (Last Known location)
FAMILY HISTORY LIBRARY CATALOG: Eightieth birthday and tenth new building anniversary celebration : Congregation B'Nai Abraham, Newark, New Jersey
|Copyright 1998 - 2018 Glenn G. Geisheimer|